Four Canadians in the Courts T20 Grand Slam

The Courts T20 Grand Slam, a women’s T20 cricket tournament, is currently taking place in Trinidad and Tobago. The four teams include several leading West Indies women cricketers and eight players from Canada, Brazil and Costa Rica nominated by ICC Americas. The four Canadians players in the tournament are Divya Saxena, Miryam Khokhar, Achini Perera and Hiba Shamshud. Miryam Khokhar and Achini Perera are Under-19 players; each team is required to field at least one U-19 player per game.
Divya Saxena and Miryam Khokhar are in the TECU Southern Titans, Achini Perera is with LCB Central Sharks and Hiba Shamshad is with UDeCOTT Northern Starblazers.
This is the second year of the Courts T20 Grand Slam. Northern Starblazers won the 2017 inaugural edition and continued winning ways in the opening game this year. Rachel Vincent lead with 83* as the Northern Starblazers reached a winning 154/3 after 19.1 overs in reply to Trident Sport’s Phoenix tally of 153/5 from 20 overs. Stacey-Ann King struck 78 for the Phoenix. A wet outfield caused a no result in the other scheduled opening day game between TECU South Titans and LCB Contractors Central Sharks.
The Trinidad and Tobago daily “Newsday” reported the co-ordinator of the tournament and former CEO of the TT Cricket Board Suruj Ragoonath as saying: “This will be a Caribbean Premier League (CPL) for women in the future as we see this is an important step in the right direction to the professionalisation of women’s cricket. The level of competitiveness will be of a high standard because it is our best players in the region coming together.”
It seems a long time ago since I saw most of the 2008 Canadian women’s team tour to Trinidad and Tobago. I missed the last game of that tour as I popped up to Barbados to see an ICC Americas Under-15 play Kenya in the one-day CLICO international tournament. Nitish Kumar and Nikhil Dutta were in the ICC Americas U15 team that beat Kenya U15 on a Sunday in Barbados in 2008 and were two of the most active players in the inaugural 2018 Global T20 Canada.
The “Newsday” report about the Courts T20 Grand Slam mentions Anne Browne-John who, if I recall correctly, helped with the inaugural 2007 ICC Americas Women’s championship. Canada won that tournament but the visiting Trinidad and Tobago women’s team provided a challenge to the ICC Associate players in other games played during the course of that 2007 tournament.
Achini Pererra won the Best All Rounder and Best Fielder awards at the 2018 Canada Cup Women’s Championship that took place at G. Ross Lord Park during the recent Canada Day Public Holiday weekend. She was also named player of the game for Ontario Greens against Ja Ja Jaguars. Miryam Khohkar won the player of the game award for Ontario Reds against Alberta Strikers. Both young cricketers have hopes and dreams of playing for Canada in the international arena in the future and in a female version of a Global T20 Canada, as did many of those playing in this year’s Canada Cup at Ross Lord Park.
Iqra Khalid, MP for Mississauga – Erin Mills, was the guest who presented the awards at the recent 2018 Canada Cup and hoped that the players will see their dreams come true. (EN)

The launch and background to this tournament, including the four playing squads, was covered in “Newsday” on June 27, 2018.

A video report about the 2018 opening game between Northern Starblazers and Phoenix is available on C TV T&T:

(Visited 1 times, 2 visits today)