Cricket Canada releases squad for ICC Division 2

Cricket Canada has taken the unusual step of naming their squad for the ICC WCL Division 2 tournament four months in advance – it will be held in Namibia in April 2019. Apparently the official squad will be 14 members but two extra players will travel with the team.

1. Davy Jacobs
2. Navneet Dhaliwal
3. Rodrigo Thomas
4. Ruvindu Gunasekera
5. Nitish Kumar
6. Hiral Patel
7. Ravinder Pal Singh
8. Varun Sehdev
9. Srimantha Wijeyeratne
10. Saad Zafar
11. Nikhil Dutta
12. Cecil Perves
13. Romesh Eranga Don
14. Dilon Heyliger
15. Bhavindu Adhihetty
16. Sukhdeep Brar

The one surprise in the squad is Hiral Patel, who last played for Canada in 2015, although he did take part in the Global T20 this past summer. Canada’s most recent competition was the West Indies domestic 50-over competition, and Harsh Thaker and Salman Nazar who were part of that squad appear to miss out.

It is to be assumed that this group will be training together over the winter, and that some form of pre-tour practice matches will be arranged.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)