Quebec win Eastern Canadian T20 championships

NL bat Dario Cox bowled in the last over

,Quebec won the Eastern Canadian T20 championships based on final round-robin standings as the final was washed out with Quebec on 77/5 after 13 overs. Quebec had finished the round-robin unbeaten, beating PEI in the early Sunday morning game, but not without a fight from PEI. Quebec batted first and made 245/3, with Pratik Joshi becoming the third Quebec batsman to register a century. PEI’s Satwinder Singh Baath also made a century as PEI made 216/6.
The final round robin match was between Newfoundland and Labrador and New Brunswick, with each team having the opportunity to qualify for the final on net run rate over Nova Scotia with a big win. Newfoundland batted first and gave themselves a chance with the highest total of the tournament of 283/8, led by 74 from 26 balls from Nick Baxter, 49 from Maanik Arora, and 44 from Gurman Khurana. This meant that they had to restrict New Brunswick to 138 in order to qualify, and they fell just short as New Brunswick made 154. If NL had made 15 runs more in their 4 matches combined they would have played in the final; as it was they placed just behind Nova Scotia.
Suresh Ramkissoon, Quebec’s captain was named tournament MVP, best batsman was Satwinder Singh Baath (PEI), best bowler Shahab Zamir (Quebec) and best fielder Daksh Talwar (Nova Scotia).

CricClubs has full cards and statistics, and Cricket NL has some video on their YouTube channel.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)