Canada drawn in Group B for Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier

Canada has been drawn in Group B of the Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier along with Ireland, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Hong Kong, Jersey and Nigeria according to an ICC Media release issued on Tuesday (September 3, 2019). The Qualifier begins on 18 October 2019 and concludes with games scheduled for Dubai and Abu Dhabi.
There are 14 national teams participating in this T20 World Cup Qualifier and the starting phase involves round-robin matches in two groups of seven teams. Six places are available for the preliminary phase of the 2020 T20 World Cup in Australia. The top team in each of Groups A and B advances to the Qualifier semi-finals and automatically qualify for the 2020 T20 World Cup. The next three teams from each group advance to the playoffs that begin on 29 October but only the teams placing second and third in the round robin standings have the chance to advance to the semi-finals and win this T20 World Cup Qualifier.
Canada’s Group B match schedule is to play Jersey on 20 October; Nigeria on 21 October; Ireland on 23 October; Hong Kong on 24 October; Oman on October 25; and UAE on 27 October. Canada’s group matches are being played in Abu Dhabi, mostly at the Zayed Cricket Stadium. Canada’s target is to be in the top three of Group B and to be playing and winning in the semi-finals in Dubai on November 1 and in the Final on November 2, 2019. (EN)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)