CCA announce squad for InterContinental Cup finals

October 1 2004

The CCA have announced the squad to play UAE next month in the InterContinental Cup finals. John Davison apparently will be released by South Australia to captain, but there are a couple of surprises in the team. Sanjay Thurasingham and the CCA apparently parted on bad terms after the World Cup in South Africa but he returns to the team to bolster the quick bowling. He has only taken 9 wickets and bowled 81 overs in the Toronto leagues this summer, so his selection for a three day game is speculative. Sanjay is a fine bowler, and played a large part in Canada's qualfication for the World Cup in 2001. with Patel, Codrington, and Bhatti all bowling well against Bermuda, he perhaps will struggle to make the team despite his inclusion in the squad.

The CCA web site says, cryptically, "Sanjay was drop from the National team following the 2003 World Cup after the controversy at the World Cup regarding his health and behaviour with former National Coach Gus Logie and team manager Karram."

The other surprise is Jason Patraj, a newcomer to the national team. Jason is a promising youngster but in terms of new blood one wonders why Jasjet Mangat, who recently impressed in the West Indies regional underr-19 tournament was not considered. Mangat made 170 against the Windward Islands in that tournament. Patraj's top-score in the Toronto Premier division this summer is 87, his only score over 50; he's also been by no means a regular in the club first tema, playing several matches in the lower divisions.

One also wonders what Albertan Manzoor Chaudhary thinks of the team. Chaudhary was picked for the USA and Bermuda matches but was 12th man in both cases. Perhaps his skill as a drinks waiter was lacking! He is still to make his debut for Canada.

One of the team that played against Bermuda will have to make way for Ian Billcliff, listed as vice-captain - perhaps Maxwell, who didn't bowl and failed with the bat in that match although he has had a fine domestic season.

The squad is:- John Davison (British Columbia, captain), Desmond Chumney  (Ontario)  Zubin Surkari  (Ontario) Ian Billcliff (British Columbia, vice-captain Ashish Bagai  (Ontario), Sanjay Thurasingham (Ontario), Haninder Dhillon   (British Columbia), Don Maxwell  (Ontario), Sunil Dhaniram  (Ontario), Kevin Sandher (B.C), Austin Codrington  (Ontario), Ashish Patel  (Quebec), Jason Patraj (Ontario) and Umar Bhatti (Ontario).

[CCA news]