Fall tournament – rounds 1 and 2

Fall League 2014- First round

PSA Nomads and Lions all are unbeaten after the first weekend’s play, with PSA leading Group A and Nomds Group B. The highlight of the weekend was perhaps Rahul Vashisht 72 from just 28 balls, followed by an unbeaten 54 in the Nomad’s second match. PSA’s Taha Sheik bowled three overs for 10 runs in the top bowling performance of the weekend.
Continue reading Fall tournament – rounds 1 and 2

Fall league teams, schedule and rules

The Fall league takes place over two weekends, October 18-19 and October 25-26. eight teams are entered – good luck to all.
Fall 2014 – Indoor rules

Fall league

Fall league plans are advancing fast. The tournament will be played over two weekends – October 18-19 and 25-26.

  • 6 a side, no maximum players per team. $ 60 entry fee per team. Fee to be received by 17th Oct.
  • Team information needs to be provided to Crick NL by 13th October.
  • We will have a draw this Thursday 16th October
  • Manager and Team meetings to review rules will happen Friday, 17th October.

Herringshaw Cup and awards

Cup winners!

The Cricket Newfoundland and Labrador outdoor season concluded on Sunday with the Herringshaw Cup match and awards presentation.
Rahul Vashisht was named most valuable player in the summer league and was also named best batsman. Rahul was top run scorer with 208, and was also one of the league’s top bowlers, taking 11 wickets. Rakesh Nehi was the top bowler, taking 13 wickets with his varied off-spin, and Kaivallya Kulkarni was named top fielder, a consistent performer in a number of positions and notable for his ability to throw well both right and left handed.
In other awards, Amit Sundly and Nadeem Saqlain shared the most spirited player award, and Saravana Kumar was named most improved player.
In the Herringshaw Cup match, the Memorial University team beat Cricket NL to win the Herringshaw Cup.

This was the inaugural contest for the Herringshaw Cup, an event Cricket NL plans to host annually as a means to welcoming new players to the organization, and to finish the outdoor season. The Cup is named in honour of Liam Herringshaw, the driving force behind the establishment of Cricket NL as a provincial sports organization in 2010.

Herrringshaw Cup Poster

Summer league statistics

Statistics from the Summer League- those from games not scored electronically should be considered approximate! Congratulations to Rahul Vashisht who was top run scorer and second in  wickets taken.

Continue reading Summer league statistics

Board meeting

The board of Cricket NL met Sunday, September 18. The main topics discussed were that of recruitment, schools cricket, summer and fall leagues and facilities. The main points that came out of the meeting were:-
- we will have a recruitment drive over the next two weeks leading to an exhibition match/ open day on 27 September
- The Summer League is operating at a substantial loss due to many participants not paying membership or game fees.
- Fall league will start October 10, with team registration deadline a week before

Shamrocks win league

In the final league match of the summer, Shamrocks batted first and scored 65 all out and Terra Novas fell 25 runs short.
Some excellent performances: Rishi 18 with two excellent catches. Sentill took 4 wickets. Rahul and Dhrumit complete bowled well once again for Terranovas. Sarvanna  took 3 and Talha took two wickets for Shamrocks.
Man of the Match M- Rakesh Negi with 17 and 3 wickets.

Shamrocks won the best of 11 series 6-2 and are the 2014 League Champions.

August 30 match

The match was reduced to 15 overs each side
Shamrocks batted first and scored 95. Asim-28, Amit 23, Negi 21 (not out).
Terra Novas 65 all out,  Gurman 31, Kangai and  Purvi 3 wickets each.
MOM- Amit for his all round performance for 23 and 1 wicket.

Atlantic T20- statistics

Data extracted from Cricketarchive scorecards.

The statistics show a true all-round team performance with 9 players bowling, all with a degree of success. The team was led by all-round performances from Rakesh Negi , Rahul Vashisht and Hari Raghuraman. Rakesh contributed over 100 runs in 4 innings, and led wicket takers with five, Hari topped run socring with 232 at an average of 77.33, and also took three wickets at a good economy rate. Rahul Vashisht also took three wickets and made 142 runs. Saravana had impressive figures with the ball, taking three wickets and conceding only 3.2 runs/ over. Continue reading Atlantic T20- statistics

Cricket NL place third at Atlantic T20

Cricket Newfoundland and Labrador returned from the Atlantic T20 tournament in PEI with a third place finish, with wins over PEI and New Brunswick, and losses to Quebec (the eventual champions) and Nova Scotia. Injuries and work commitments meant the original squad was depleted, but the late addition of Hari Raghumaran (former Nova Scotia team captain) proved beneficial as he made a major contribution to the team’s success. He and Rahul Vashist led the batting and both also made useful contributions with the ball. Team captain Rakesh Negi also made runs and took wickets.
The team got off to a good start on Friday with a comprehensive win over hosts PEI, putting up a provincial record total of 242/5, Rakesh Negi, Rahul Vashisht and Hari Raghuraman all making half-centuries. PEI were bowled out for 127 in 19.3 overs, Hummam taking 3 wickets, Saravana Kumar and Rahul Vashisht taking two each.
The team battled hard against a strong Quebec squad in Friday’s second match, just failing to chase down Quebec’s 179/4 total. Vashisht and Raghuraman again contributed half centuries but in difficult conditions and failing light, the team fell twenty runs short.
Saturday saw the team lose by the closest of margins to last year’s champions, Nova Scotia. Hari Raghumaran made 68 as Newfoundland and Labrador made 166/5. They looked to have the match all but won as Nova Scotia lost 5 of their top batsmen for only fifty runs. They were unable to press home their advantage and Nova Scotia hit the winning runs of the fifth ball of the last over.
The tournament concluded on Sunday against New Brunswick where after restricting New Brunswick to 133/6 the team chased down the total with four wickets in hand. Quebec were crowned champions, winning all their games, nova scotia placed second and Newfoundland and Labrador a strong third.
Overall the team were pleased with a strong performance, showing they can compete with the best in eastern Canada, running both Quebec and Nova Scotia close in their matches, despite playing in unfamiliar conditions and with a less than full strength squad.
Nova Scotia – NL