Canada squad for WCL Division 2

Cricket Canada has announced the squad for the ICC WCL Division 2 tournament, to be held in Namibia, April 20-27.

Davy Jacob (Captain)
Navneet Dhawilal
Rodrigo Thomas
Nitish Kumar
Ruvindu Gunasekera
Bhavindu Adhihetty
Hiral Patel
Nikhil Dutta
Ravinderpal Singh
Srimanta Wijeyeratne
Saad Zafar
Cecil Pervez
Romesh Eranga
Dilon Heyliger

Kantharatnam Shanthikumar – Manager
Monty Desai – Head Coach
Henry Osinde – Bowling Coach
Daulat Khan – Asst Coach/Asst Analyst

Missing from the squad is Hamza Tariq, picked as the best keeper in last February’s WCL Division 2 tournament, who with Davy Jacobs with the gloves had to earn a spot as a batsman alone. Many will notice the absence of Rizwan Cheema, but he has been increasingly seen as a T20 player only, and is now 40 years old. Hiral Patel has not played 50 over cricket for Canada since 2013 but returns to the squad. Ravinderpal Singh is also possibly a surprise with his previous appearances for Canada limited to last fall’s ICC T20 qualifier, plus an outing against West Indies B in last September’s cricket fest.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)